cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Go to solution

Forced to renew for 2 years

Just one more reason I wish I could transfer all of my domains away from Godaddy. 

It seems that when using the auto renew feature we are now being forced to auto renew for a period of 2 plus years. There is NO option for 1 year that I have been using for the past 15 years as a customer of godaddy. And no, before someone mentions this depends on your initial purchase length that is simply not the case. I only EVER purchase domains for a 1 year period. 

This is extremely deceptive on the part of Godaddy and surely not legal. The only way to renew for a year is to cancel the auto renewal and then click the renew button manually, you then have the choice to renew for a year so why is this not the same in the auto renewal settings? 

People with 30+ domains don't want to take the risk of not having auto renew on and it seems like godaddy are cashing in on this - it really is a disgusting way to treat customers.

Making a complaint to godaddy about this is a pointless exercise but how can they get away with deceiving LOYAL customers like this? 

7 REPLIES 7
Community Manager
Community Manager

Re: Forced to renew for 2 years

Hi @awilson3rd. Thanks for posting. I can definitely understand your frustration. First, I have to clarify that there are two ways that a domain can be set up to renew for more than one year. The first (and most common) is based on the initial purchase of the domain. You can verify this is the case by taking a look at the Order History for your account. If you're not able to find the initial receipt from your purchase, a member of our customer care team can help you out with that. If you have a receipt showing that your initial purchase of the domain was for a single year but it is renewing for more than that, please bring that to our support team as well so it can be reviewed in greater detail. That definitely shouldn't be happening.