cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Go to solution
deizy
Novice

Newbie question about domain transfer

Hello everyone! I had domain name and hosting with different company, but they've been just horrible and lately my website was down for about a month! So, I have decided to transfer my domain and hosting services to GoDaddy. So that's what I did:

1. Cancelled right away my services with my old company (was so pissed). 

2. Transferred my domain name to GoDaddy.

3. Transferred hosting services to GoDaddy.

Now, since I am new at all of this and know nothing about domain/hosting migration and now reading articles on how to do it (should have read before), I know I made mistakes. I did not back up my files (( but I thought that what the transfer is for - to transfer everything from one server to another. The transfer happened just a day ago but my site still down and not working.

So the question is - should I still wait for the files to be transferred to my new server with GoDaddy or did I lose them completely now? If they cannot be transferred, is there any way I can somehow get them back from the old host? Do they keep them and if so for how long? If I switch back to the old host is there possibility that I will restore my files? 

Sorry if the questions are dumb ) as I said I am new at all of this. I would really appreciate any help! Thanks a lot! 

3 REPLIES

Re: Newbie question about domain transfer

deizy wrote:

Hello everyone! I had domain name and hosting with different company, but they've been just horrible and lately my website was down for about a month! So, I have decided to transfer my domain and hosting services to GoDaddy. So that's what I did:

1. Cancelled right away my services with my old company (was so pissed). 

2. Transferred my domain name to GoDaddy.

3. Transferred hosting services to GoDaddy.