cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Go to solution
New

Transfer someone else's GoDaddy domain to my GoDaddy account

I am trying to transfer someone else's GoDaddy domain to my GoDaddy account. They have already given me the Authorization code but i am new at this and struggling even where to start. If anybody can help it would be much appreciated.

3 REPLIES 3
Super User II
Super User II
Solution

Re: Transfer someone else's GoDaddy domain to my GoDaddy account

@Mlaw2 wrote:

I am trying to transfer someone else's GoDaddy domain to my GoDaddy account. They have already given me the Authorization code but i am new at this and struggling even where to start. If anybody can help it would be much appreciated.

@Mlaw2 These are two completely different things. If the domain name is already registered at Godaddy you'll want them to follow these instructions: https://www.godaddy.com/help/move-a-domain-to-another-godaddy-account-822

If you're transferring a domain name from another registrar to Godaddy then you'll follow these instructions: https://www.godaddy.com/help/transfer-my-domain-to-godaddy-1592

----

Highlighted

What if they were willing to generate the Auth code but are NOT willing to go through all of the steps listed to move an account within GoDaddy?? I can go right now to NetSol (really don't want to!) and enter the auth code and get it done. Why can I not do that here??? Ridiculous! 

Solution

Hi @dESnoop,

An Account Change (from one GoDaddy account to another) does not use an Authorization code to make that lateral move. An Authorization code is a "domain password" ONLY used by the Registry to move a domain between registrars - such as GoDaddy.com and Network Solutions. It is an entirely different process, dependent on the Registry that requires a fee and a change to the domain's term.