cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

protected directories

I am creating a website and need a "members only" section. I have protected a directory so that when you try and access it a log-in dialog box pops up. 

Now here is what I want

I have created a log-in form with a user name and password field. I want to pass that info on to the system so that it uses my page to validate user, not the pop-up box.

Ho do I do that?

=w=

PS

I am a designer, not a coder, so if this is a stupid simple thing, please forgive my ignorance.

5 REPLIES 5
Advocate V Advocate V
Advocate V

Re: protected directories

I remember struggling with this about 10 years ago and not finding a workable solution.  You can construct a form that redirects using a URL of the form http://username:password@yoursite.com/protected_dir but that opens you up to all kinds of security problems.  Files in a protected directory are more for you and your team than for public consumption.  It's a way for you to store documents and files in a way that gives you access to them from anywhere, kind of like Dropbox.

The most common way to do this is to use a server side language like PHP to create a session and then have a bit of script at the top of each page that checks the session to ensure the user is authorized.

This is a multi-step process.  It requires a login page to display a form to gather a username and password.  Often, the same page can be used to check the user credentials, usually against a list contained in a database so that each user can have their own username and password.  A successful match results in a session variable being created that indicates to subsequent pages that a user has been validated.  Then, each page with protected content has a bit of script at the top that checks to make sure the session variable is set and the user has been validated and redirects to the login page if they have not been logged in.