Show  only  | Search instead for 
    Did you mean: 
    Go to solution
    ScottSheppard
    Getting Started

Why do I get these broken links?

I am a newbie. I have created my first site:

http://wwoakcest.com

I use a tool to check for broken links. Though all of my site navigation links are fine, the tool identifies some broken links. I assume // protocol references are for some local server references. Is there some setting that I need to set to avoid these broken links?

broken-links2.jpgbroken-links3.jpg

My concern is that site loading is slowed down by the server trying to resolve these links.

Scott Sheppard
    2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
    PL281
    Super User II

@ScottSheppard 

The // means to load over HTTP or HTTPS  - it allows the browser to decide how to load the site

When I visit the site with the live domain vs the the GoDaddy temp domain it loads fine.

As a foot note:

I manage the websites for a number of HOAs in Florida - these are independent of anything the management company provides as those sites are more "admin" based vs "social & marketing" based.  That said, I do see your disclaimer on the "about" page that your site is not the association site - I also see it seems that you haven't had turn over yet. I just advise you to be careful with all this and once turnover does occur make sure the board is aware of what's going on. 

I've seen residents set up sites before that are separate from the association and the issue that you run into is that then people don't know which site to go to and also as you are not doing this on behalf of the association you can put advertising and put other information which the association may not agree with and people may not clearly see / know the difference.

I also recommend if you are going to build a full site for the association to use WordPress as you will have more functionality / flexibility with it to grow as the communities needs grow.

I am a GoDaddy End User - Just Like You