• GoDaddy Community
  • Managed WordPress Hosting
  • Managed WordPress Hosting

cancel
    Showing results for 
    Show  only  | Search instead for 
    Did you mean: 

SVG File Appears Too Large on Site

I tried .gif and .png files for my logo but they are too fuzzy and wanted to try an .svg file so I installed the SVG Support plugin so I could upload an .svg file to the media library. I am using a GoDaddy WordPress theme (Mins) with Beaver Builder. I have decent experience working with existing WordPress sites but this is my first site from scratch and I am new to Beaver Builder and am no where near what I would call a developer to give background on my capabilities. I sized the .svg at exactly 160x50 pixels and yet it resizes to some huge dimensions when plugged into the site identity customization section for the logo area, taking over most of the site width. Plus, when I take a look at the edit functionality in the library, the message, "Image data does not exist. Please re-upload the image." appears (the image is in the library though). That makes me nervous, like the image isn't sticking completely, as though the plugin isn't compatible with WordPress on GoDaddy (and is it a GoDaddy issue potentially or would I see this on any version of WordPress?). I did try to see if I could find out what was happening with the sizing through google searches, and it could be that I need to go into the code directly and make modifications, but if you are using the theme the way I am with Beaver Builder, the code is not readily accessible, and this goes beyond my skill-set as it stands now anyway. Any thoughts? Or am I stuck with a nasty fuzzy .gif or .png logo?

4 REPLIES 4

Re: SVG File Appears Too Large on Site

It sounds like your svg isn't being sized. You can control this by sizing the container it lives in, or by defining the viewBox in the svg. This write-up on css-tricks should cover everything you need to know.