cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Go to solution

If i delete a domain from my account will my details appear as previous owner or will it be private?

hello guys,

If i delete a domain from my account will my details appear as previous owner or will it be private?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Moderator
Moderator

Hi @Gmanbbb,

 

Welcome to the Community!

 

Yes, when you cancel a domain that has privacy, we will apply a version of that privacy when the domain expires or when it is cancelled. Our system hides your contact information during your domain name's expiration period to protect you from harassment/spam. GoDaddy then provides no further whois data to the Registry as an inactive domain. However, the whois directories online will refresh their data at different rates, and while the information they use comes from that Registry, we don't control what they will publish. After cancellation, we will hold the domain in your account in an inactive status to allow for recovery for a limited time (depending on the Registry).

 

That said, we cannot make all expiring/canceled TLDs private, especially all CCTLDs. We are working to provide this service for all TLDs in the future. The privacy action will apply to the standard TLDs, such as .COM, .INFO, .NET, .ORG, etc. (Not an all-inclusive list).

 

 

TLH - GoDaddy | Community Moderator
Supporting you at x.co/247support

View solution in original post

2 REPLIES 2
Resolver VI

Hi 

Zulfiqar Anees | Founder/CEO at FastTech Media, TechMag, TechKnowable, and ZulWeb | GoDaddy Pro.
Moderator
Moderator

Hi @Gmanbbb,

 

Welcome to the Community!

 

Yes, when you cancel a domain that has privacy, we will apply a version of that privacy when the domain expires or when it is cancelled. Our system hides your contact information during your domain name's expiration period to protect you from harassment/spam. GoDaddy then provides no further whois data to the Registry as an inactive domain. However, the whois directories online will refresh their data at different rates, and while the information they use comes from that Registry, we don't control what they will publish. After cancellation, we will hold the domain in your account in an inactive status to allow for recovery for a limited time (depending on the Registry).

 

That said, we cannot make all expiring/canceled TLDs private, especially all CCTLDs. We are working to provide this service for all TLDs in the future. The privacy action will apply to the standard TLDs, such as .COM, .INFO, .NET, .ORG, etc. (Not an all-inclusive list).

 

 

TLH - GoDaddy | Community Moderator
Supporting you at x.co/247support

View solution in original post