Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Go to solution
DraastiK
New

Wanting to point 2 domains to the same server. 2nd domain was purchased by a friend using NameBright

Ok so this one may seem a bit confusing so bare with me while I do my best to simplify this.

The website and domain name I have been using  has been up and running for a few years and it's great. No problems. However, there was another domain that I wanted, but was unavailable when I was originally setting up my website.The domain has since become available, and my friend purchased it through NameBright. He currently has the domain hosted on a GoDaddy server.

My question is, what is the best solution to have both domains pointing to the same host? Is this more of a pain since the other domain I want is owned by a friend?

If that was too confusing, I'll try to simplify it

- I own domain A with host

- Friend owns domain B with host

- We would like to point domains A and B to the same host (Domain A's host)

- After that, we would like domain B to be the primary domain. Meaning if they type domain A's name, it'll change to domain B in the address bar.

Any help is appreciated.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

You have to be a bit careful here.

If you're using a CMS like WordPress, you can hack up the wp-config.php file + hack your Apache config to shoehorn this into working + the net result will be disaster, as you'll have two sites mucking about with one database.

Also, in this case the second site will be flagged with a duplicate content penalty for every page, which will promote page penalties to a site wide penalty, so your 2nd site will be pruned from Google's index... forever... Very hard to come back from this.

So your idea... is fine for some random hobby site + incorrect for money sites.

The correct way to do this is as follows.

1) Make a backup of site A, using Duplicator or BackupBuddy or whatever you use.