cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Helper I

Friendly URLs for site collections?

I recently opened an Office 365 Online Essentials account with GoDaddy. I am very familiar with Office and my employer's locally-hosted SharePoint 2013. However, I am new to Office 365 and Sites.

I have only created one site collection just for familiarization purposes. I have not attempted to create and external site collection.

I am finding the automatically-generated URLs somewhat dumbfounding (as well as the general organization of Sites). The URLs all start with netorgft#######.sharepoint.com or netorgft#######-my.sharepoint.com.

Is there any way to change the URLs into something more friendly, e.g., mydomain.sharepoint.com or some such thing?

7 REPLIES 7
Super User I Super User I
Super User I

Re: Friendly URLs for site collections?

For those new to the GoDaddy Office 365 experience this link is a good place to start. As for your original query @NellieNobody I believe the answer can be found here Online Public Website address to use your custom domain.

...turns out that my two cents is worth less or more depending on the current exchange rate.

roy darling *my posts seem a lot shorter in my head

Helper I

Thanks! I'll take a look!

Helper I

I had already set up my email addresses, so that first link was not helpful.

My Office 365 Admin Center does not match the instructions shown in the second link. When I click the closest link to the one indicated in the instructions, it just takes me back to the GoDaddy website.

Super User I Super User I
Super User I

I apologize @NellieNobody, I have not actually used the GoDaddy Office 365 offering. Perhaps someone can point you to better instructions or speak to your specific issue?

...turns out that my two cents is worth less or more depending on the current exchange rate.

roy darling *my posts seem a lot shorter in my head