Without seeing what your settings are it's tough to say what happened. Changing your blog title/name (Settings > General) should not cause any problems.
Updates on the other hand can cause conflicts. That is why you are always prompted to backup your database and files before doing any updates. Did you backup before you did the update? If you did you should be able to restore back to your last backup.