• Websites + Marketing | Website Builders
  • Websites + Marketing | Website Builders

cancel
    Showing results for 
    Show  only  | Search instead for 
    Did you mean: 

MediaWiki, Infoboxs and LUA

Hey everyone.

I have been trying for some time to set up a wiki page that shares the same functionality as Wikipedia.  I keep hitting a wall when it comes to getting Infoboxes to work.  Seems that no webhost supports LUA which is necessary to run Scribunto and ultimately place infoboxes on the wiki pages.  

I've learned that installing LUA is possible using a cloud server but I have no idea where to start with that - do I install the mediawiki app first and go under it to install LUA, or do I need to manually install everything starting with a linux base?

I really don't understand enough about this stuff.

Thanks.

26 REPLIES 26

Re: MediaWiki, Infoboxs and LUA

Hi @LegacyGamers,

Welcome to our forums. I'm not an expert in regards to your issue but hopefully, one of our other community members can chime in and help you out. 

KayJay - GoDaddy | Community Moderator
    24/7 support available at x.co/247support

Hi,

I'm in the same boat. I first tried a manual install, thinking I had to pay a monthly fee for the GoDaddy app version. But I ran into a Lua problem after having installed Scribunto. Now I'm trying it this way, hoping for a more managed approach.

Any insight would be helpful.

Helper I

Have any of you guys figured it out?  After a long, hard road, I finally figured out how to do it!  If you still need help, please let me know!  I keep trying to post the fix but the form messes up when I do...

Helper I

I'm going to try and post this again.  Apparently the binaries packaged with Scribunto do not work correctly, nor do the downloadable ones.  I think the problem, really, is that we have to make them executable and PuTTY, the recommended SSH program can't do it in Shell.