• Websites + Marketing | Website Builders
  • Websites + Marketing | Website Builders

cancel
    Showing results for 
    Show  only  | Search instead for 
    Did you mean: 

WebAPI Issue

Hi

Creating asp.net website using Web API is working on my localhost, after moved to godaddy server not working.
    Website not opening it says
    Forbidden - You do not have permission to access this document.
    Not Found - The requested document was not found on this server.(web api link)
    How to fix this issue? Please explain as soon as possible.
    test
    7 REPLIES 7
    Community Manager
    Community Manager

Re: WebAPI Issue

Hi @prabakaran8032

I'm not a coding expert, but when I've seen that error before it usually means your code is looking for something that's not there. Since you coded the site on a local server, perhaps your code is referencing something still on your local system instead of a location on your server. 

Does anyone else in the community with ASP.NET experience have more insight? 

JesseW - GoDaddy | Community Manager | 24/7 support available at x.co/247support | Remember to choose a solution and give kudos.

I have encountered the same issue. Did you find the solution?

I had this issue when I placed my app in a folder, as opposed to the root of the website.  This is because a folder isn't an IIS application.

Other caveats: if you want to use SSL, it won't work until you change the protocol for src="http://...jquery-2.0.3.min.js" to src="https://...jquery-2.0.3.min.js"  See the source code from this page to see this work (https://clickonmy.com/UTC.html)

I should also mention that, if you want your app in its own folder, you can do this by creating a Virtual Directory from (Plesk Hosting) Websites & Domains > your domain > Virtual Directories, then click Create Virtual Directory.  Just make sure the  'Create application' box is checked on the Create New Virtual Directory screen.