• Welcome and Announcements

cancel
    Showing results for 
    Show  only  | Search instead for 
    Did you mean: 
    Go to solution
    Highlighted
    New

Starting a free community center for moms and babies--HELP!

I am in over my head. I am doing this project alone (well, my two adult sons are working very hard for me on the building) and a lot of people are getting excited about it, but so far I've had a few donations of carpet tiles for the building and kids toys and a baby swing. I'm going to need to pay electric bill, I'm buying furniture on my own dime, paint and wall decals, posters, educational materials - I sold a very large painting that is funding this project but I am running out of money fast and my husband is not working and I am not getting paid for postpartum doula work because I am still a student. I sent in information for a few grants, and somehow word got to someone and I was invited to my Town's Chamber of Commerce nonprofit luncheon later this month. But how do you take on a project like this? I really want to do it because I think it's really needed and people will love it but I'm scared of doing all this by myself. What should I do?
    9 REPLIES 9

Re: Starting a free community center for moms and babies--HELP!

Congratulations to you on your successes so far.   I admire your interest and dedication.

I think that you should contact SCORE (Senior Core of Retired Executives) in your community.  Meet with one or more of these retired executives and work with them to develop a business plan.  This service is completely free.  Then go from there.   You might also check with the Small Business Administration in your area as well as the Executive Director of your Chamber of Commerce. 

Perhaps, next you could meet with some religious leaders to see if they could ether promote or financially support your initiative as well.  

Best wishes!!! Check back with me if I can be of further support.  Ron

New