|  Home
Help

Domains Help

Cancel my domain

We understand there may be situations where you no longer wish to have a domain name registered to you. If you decide to cancel (delete) a domain from your account, you can do so at any time. When you cancel a domain name, it is immediately deleted from your account. You may wish to turn off auto renew instead.

  1. Log in to your GoDaddy Domain Control Center. (Need help logging in? Find your username or password.)
  2. Select your domain name to go to the Domain Settings page.
  3. Scroll down to the Additional Settings section and select the Delete Domain text.
    Delete domain link

    Note: If the Delete domain text shows as Disabled, make sure you don't have a pending contact update approval and Protected Registration has been removed.

  4. Select Yes, I want to delete this domain and make it available for someone else to register.
  5. Click Delete domain to confirm deletion and cancel your domain name.

More info

  • The registry may hold your canceled domain name before releasing it for others to use, so you might be able to re-register it once it is released.
  • For refund eligibility, you can review our Refund policy.
  • Looking for a different domain name? Learn more about Registering domain names.

Was This Article Helpful?
Thanks for your feedback. To speak with a customer service representative, please use the support phone number or chat option above.
Glad we helped! Anything more we can do for you?
Sorry about that. Tell us what was confusing or why the solution didn’t solve your problem.