Skip to main content
Help Center

Website Security and Backups Help

What are Website Security backups?

Website Backup stores your website content in a safe and reliable cloud location. This gives you reassurance that your website can be recovered quickly in the event of a disaster. Below are answers to the most frequently asked questions about the backup service.

What is backed up?

One website and its associated database.

Back to top

How is the website backed up?

The backup utility connects via FTP, SFTP, FTPS, or SSH. Once connected, a PHP file is uploaded and used to back up the website files and the database.

Back to top

What isn't backed up?

By default, the following files are not backed up:

  • Cache files
  • Log files
  • Compressed files (i.e. .zip or .gz files)
  • SQL files
  • Backup files stored on your server
  • .ftpquota
  • .attach
  • .DS_Store
  • Symlinks
  • Thumbnail files
  • Repo files
  • Git files
  • AVI files
  • MP3 files

The following directories are also not backed up:

  • /cgi-bin
  • __MACOSX

You may also use the content settings to exclude files or directories of your choosing.

Back to top

How often are backups created?

You can configure the backup settings to back up the site at a time that is convenient for you. Choose a frequency of monthly, weekly, daily, once every 12 hours, or once every 6 hours. You can also create a backup on demand by clicking on the Backup Now button.

Back to top

How long are backups stored?

90 days.

Back to top

What are the hosting requirements for using the backup service?

  • PHP 5.2 or higher
  • FTP/SFTP/FTPS/SSH access
  • Read/Write access

Back to top

What are the backup limits?

  • Files over 4000000000 bytes (~4 GB)
  • 1,000,000 files
  • MySQL databases only
  • Maximum database size 2 GB

Back to top

How do I restore or download my website?

Multiple restore options are available:

Back to top

What happens when my Website Backups are cancelled?

Once the backup plan is cancelled, backups that were already created will not be restored when the plan is set up again. Backups from canceled plans are retained for 7 days. Please submit a support ticket within 7 days of cancellation to recover the site files and database.

Back to top

What if I have a question that isn't listed here?

If you have any additional questions, please reach out to support using the Request Support button in your backup plan.

Back to top