Skip to main content
Help Center
The GoDaddy Community will undergo maintenance starting on Tuesday, August 3rd at 3pm PST / 6pm EST. Learn more
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Go to solution

Turning Off Auto-New Switch My Privacy To Basic Privacy

I turned off auto-renew but then I noticed my privacy settings also changed to basic privacy. However, now when I am turning on auto-renew, the privacy is still at 'basic privacy' and showing option to upgrade my privacy package.

 

Do I have to purchase 'Full Domain Privacy & Protection' privacy package for the domain? What happened with the previous purchased 'Full Domain Privacy & Protection' privacy package?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
TLH
Moderator
Moderator

Hi @danishsardarali,

 

Welcome to the Community!
One of the primary features of Protected Registration (PR) is expiration protection. That is designed to auto-renew the product and - failing billing - prevent it from leaving the account for a longer time than is standard. In order to remove the auto-renewal, the Protection must be removed, as you've seen. There is a warning that you approve when removing this feature:  "Yes, I consent to remove Protection for the selected domain(s)".

 

The other main feature of PR is to protect against inadvertent - or malicious - transfer of domains. Once the feature is removed, it must be upgraded to add again. (And would add the auto-renewal back in.)

 

 

 

TLH - GoDaddy | Community Moderator
Supporting you at godaddy.com/help/contact-us

View solution in original post

1 REPLY 1
TLH
Moderator
Moderator

Hi @danishsardarali,

 

Welcome to the Community!
One of the primary features of Protected Registration (PR) is expiration protection. That is designed to auto-renew the product and - failing billing - prevent it from leaving the account for a longer time than is standard. In order to remove the auto-renewal, the Protection must be removed, as you've seen. There is a warning that you approve when removing this feature:  "Yes, I consent to remove Protection for the selected domain(s)".

 

The other main feature of PR is to protect against inadvertent - or malicious - transfer of domains. Once the feature is removed, it must be upgraded to add again. (And would add the auto-renewal back in.)

 

 

 

TLH - GoDaddy | Community Moderator
Supporting you at godaddy.com/help/contact-us

View solution in original post