cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
New

Initial Slow Response Time (15 secs) - I Know Why...

I recently purchased a new domain and web hosting from GoDaddy for my new storefront.  Initial load times for this very simple page (an MVC-5 web app running on a Plesk server) takes 15 seconds. Refresh is less than 1 second.

Similarly, when a user hits the "Buy Now" button, the new page can take 15 seconds to load (and believe me, there's not much there, and the Controller function is almost nothing).  That's if the server has been idle for 10 or 15 minutes.

Now, I've been a programmer/app developer for 35 years (I started on the Apple II computer and was making arcade games in 1983), so I've been around the block.  I'm also heavily into creating web apps in the Azure cloud, which is where my newest web app lives.

But I thought for my storefront, why not simplify things a bit and get a GoDaddy domain/hosting and create my MVC-5 storefront there?  Well, I'm very disappointed.  I simply cannot have any potential buyer have to wait 15 seconds for initial loads!

Now, I've read a lot of posts on this subject here in the Community.  Unfortunately, either the GoDaddy support teams aren't being honest, or they simply don't know what's really going on.  In my Microsoft Azure portal, I can click on Application Settings for my Web App.  One of those settings is "Always On".  Here's what the little "i" info button says about "Always On":

Indicates that your web app needs to be loaded at all times. By default, web apps are unloaded after they have been idle. It is recommended that you enable this option when you have continuous web jobs running on the web app.