cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Go to solution

Unwanted Phone Calls

Since purchasing my domain, I have received scores of unwanted and annoying telemarketing phone calls. I quickly realized that I should have purchased the option to make my domain private, and made the correction, but the calls keep coming...and coming...and coming...

I am not accusing GoDaddy of selling my information, like so many others have in posts to this forum--they very well may be--however, I do think GoDaddy is negligent in not making it ABSOLUTELY and ABUNDANTLY CLEAR that these phone calls could be the result of NOT buying the option to make the domain private.

I am pretty angry about this! I have purchased several domains from GoDaddy, some not private, but I have never experienced this volume of calls. The phone calls are driving me crazy and I am not about to change the the phone number I have been using for my business for almost 20 years! I couldn't even imagine the loss of revenue that might result if I did.

What say you, GoDaddy? How do I stop these constant calls? 

13 REPLIES 13
Super User I Super User I
Super User I
Solution

Re: Unwanted Phone Calls

@djicenine

Well, the thing is public records are public records.   If you don't buy privacy -- your domain records remain public.

The Privacy Service is clear:

=> Protects against identity theft

=> Prevents domain-related spam

=> Deters domain hacking

Not sure what more they are supposed to do.  Smiley Frustrated   Anyone could at anytime during the checkout process investigate the services they are buying (or not buying) before finalizing their order.

With that said, I have hundreds of domains with GoDaddy.   Only a handful have privacy and I don't have a crazy phone solicitation rate.  Could it be the most recent domain is in an industry that may have more phone solicitors farming WhoIs records for leads?

Judith
"I failed my way to success." ~Thomas Edison