Skip to main content
Help Center
The GoDaddy Community will undergo maintenance starting on Wednesday, July 28th at 3pm PST / 6pm EST. Learn more
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
PL281
Super User IV

WordPress Best Practices: Security, Stats and Accessibility

File this entry under “Something I should’ve probably done a long time ago… “

Without going into my entire backstory I have websites which I have been managing for anywhere from a few months to over 10 years, and while I’ve been keeping all the plug-ins and software up-to-date sometimes I don’t always have the most optimized plug-ins in use.
There are MANY different plugins to accomplish the same thing so it is important to always read the blogs / reviews and see what is the latest and greatest

Statistics - The "standard" in stats / analytics is Google Analytics there are probably 10-20 plus plugins that allow you to integrate WordPress with Google Analytics - some just put the tracking code, some show the stats and do everything in between.

For years I had used the Google Analytics Dashboard plug-in for WordPress. This plug-in function well however it had its drawbacks for example you had to get authentication key from Google and it was one of those keys that was limited to 25 sites and when you went to the 26th site it would be authorize that site.  Also, the plug-in was acquired back in 2018 and they became much more sales based and trying to upsell to a pro version of the plug-in.

So given all that, I have been switching to use the Google Site Kit plug-in, Which is great because not only does it add in the analytics code but it also he adds the site to the Google Webmaster Tools/Search Console to be able to better manage and monitor things on the site.

Security