• Websites + Marketing | Website Builders
  • Websites + Marketing | Website Builders

cancel
    Showing results for 
    Show  only  | Search instead for 
    Did you mean: 
    Getting Started

Pictures and photos in online store

I apologise if this is asked a lot but I can't find even the slightest mention anywhere on Godaddy.

So I'm running an online store through Godaddy's Premium online store feature. I have some knowledge of html and css but this makes editing easier.

You can edit your sites pages in two ways, through adding products in the shop and by editing pages in store design. My issue is that when you add photographs of your products, the CMS changes the names of the files to a long list of letters. Whenever I re-download a pic from my website it has this long default name. The problem with that is I'm told Google finds pictures based on the name as much as the text around it and I want my products to show up on google images for obvious reasons.

When editing pages in store design you can edit the code of the picture but you can't change the name since its hosted somewhere else. I understand why that it is but why isn't there a way of changing the name when its uploaded. Having a long name of random numbers and letters is also a pain when it comes to editing and copying code, and if I lose the name I re-upload the same pic which is incredibly wasteful and foolish for whoever runs that server.

2 REPLIES 2
    Community Manager

Hi, @andrewwood. Thanks for being part of GoDaddy Community!

My understanding is that the website image file names are randomized to prevent leaching, which would be when other sites or users link directly to the image and not the site/page to came from. We definitely appreciate the feedback, though. It would be interesting to know what circumstances do you find you need to have the exact file name for an image. It would also be great if others in the community could weigh in on this. Thanks!