Skip to main content
Help Center
The GoDaddy Community will undergo maintenance starting on Tuesday, August 3rd at 3pm PST / 6pm EST. Learn more
  • GoDaddy Community
  • GoDaddy Website Builders
  • GoDaddy Website Builders

cancel
    Showing results for 
    Show  only  | Search instead for 
    Did you mean: 
    admac
    Helper II

Tips for getting started with Joomla?

I've been using WordPress almost exclusively since 2008. A few weeks back I had a conversation with a Joomla developer who suggested I take another look at the platform.

So that's what I'm going to do. I'm going to take Joomla for a spin by building a website about... something... I don't know yet. 😉 It'll be a hobby site of some kind.

Now, I know my way around the WordPress ecosystem pretty well, but that doesn't seem to get me very far with Joomla. The terminology is different, the players are different, heck the entire philosophy seems very different.

For the Joomla users/developers in the room: What should I know? A "top ten" list or something would be super useful.

Thanks!

5 REPLIES 5
    idahoseo
    New

My thoughts on Joomla...run away, run far, far away and hire a contractor. 🙂

I use Joomla a lot.  You can take a look at some of the way it works here:

Build A Joomla Website

It has some free videos.  Very clear and concise.   Also Mathew Tamin on YouTube has some great videos as well.

Some things I found useful is get JSN PowerAdmin, JSN Boot, and JSN PageBuilder that extend and make it more flexible. 

Joomla's Main Website

You can see sample websites etc.  at Showcase Sites

Michael

Teraisa
    Getting Started