• Websites + Marketing | Website Builders

cancel
    Showing results for 
    Show  only  | Search instead for 
    Did you mean: 

making a forum with ratings?

Hi all, noob here

Just bought my domain and looking to make a forum to post reviews

Any recommendations on software to make a forum?

Basically- the main page is setup like a search engine - picture and search box...it searches a database of locations, you can rate it on a scale of 1-5 and post a couple lines of comments...as people post more ratings, the search result will also display the average of those ratings.

Easy enough...where do I start?
    3 REPLIES 3
    Super User I Super User I
    Super User I

Re: making a forum with ratings?

Hey @patelbv and welcome. I'd say the best solution probably depends on your ability and experience? What platforms have you used before? What are you comfortable working with? Were you thinking a CMS solution could fit? What are your users reviewing?

...turns out that my two cents is worth less or more depending on the current exchange rate.

roy darling *my posts seem a lot shorter in my head

first - thanks for the quick response! much appreciated

I do not have any background or experience in creating websites or forums (aside from just using the website builder tool that came with Godaddy where you drag/drop items). No computer science/programming training (was a biochem major in college).

CMS = Content Management System? found that on wikipedia - looks like that should work - any suggestions on one?

Users would be reviewing sites they attend for training.

Does that help?

Super User I Super User I
    Super User I

Hmmmmm, given what you've said I'm thinking a WordPress install with BuddyPress would be a great option for you? I don't know much about BuddyPress but it is a very well supported and documented plugin and there is a fairly large community around it.