Website Builder Help

Upload Files and Create Download Buttons

Website Builder enables you to upload files of up to 30MB, and then link them to a clickable button on the page. That way, your site's visitors can choose to view a long Word document or a spreadsheet offline.

This method is not intended for uploading image or audio files. Instead, see Adding and Editing Images and Adding an Audio Player. You cannot upload files ending with htm, html, htmlx, js, asp, aspx, mht, php, exe, gem, xpi or dll.

  1. Log in to your Website Builder account.
  2. Click Edit Site.
  3. Drag and drop Button Icon onto the page, or select an existing button.
  4. Click the button and choose Settings.

    Click button and choose Settings.

  5. In the Settings window, next to Label, enter the text you want the button to display.
    Enter a label for the download button.
  6. Next to Link, click the red arrow to:
    • Click Upload to transfer a new file and click Browse to find the file on your local drive.
      Click Upload

      An icon of the file is added to the File Manager. Click the file, and when the green checkmark is displayed, click Insert.
      After upload, click Insert

      NOTE: There's a 30MB limit on any uploaded file (more info).

    • Use a previously uploaded file by selecting it in the Link to list.
      Click Upload and choose a file from the list.
    • Delete a previously uploaded file, by clicking Upload and then clicking the file's Trash icon in the File Manager.
      Click to delete uploaded file
    • Click x to close the window and return to your page.
  7. If you upload a text or PDF file, you can have it open in a new window by selecting the checkbox below the Link field. (Other file types, such as a spreadsheet, will simply download rather than opening in a new window.)
    Check Open link in new window.
  8. After making your choices, click Save at the bottom of the Settings window.
  9. Click Preview to see your changes as they'll display on your web site.
  10. When you're satisfied, click Publish and confirm your choice by clicking Publish again.
  11. A window displays a link to your site, which you can click to see the published changes. Or click Close.
  12. When your page reappears, click Exit Preview.

Next Step

More Info


Was This Article Helpful?
Thank You For Your Feedback
Glad we helped! Anything more we can do for you?
Sorry about that. How can we be more helpful?