Skip to main content
Help Center
The GoDaddy Community will undergo maintenance starting on Wednesday, August 4th at 3pm PST / 6pm EST. Learn more
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
RevisePM
New

Domains and ICANN WHOIS Info

I am new to this whole "Domain" kind of thing, and when I created my domain, I started getting spam phone calls, emails, and other stuff, so I deleted my domain, hoping it would get rid of my info on ICANN's WHOIS Database, and it's still there. How can I get rid of this info??

2 REPLIES 2
TechFly
Employee

Hi @RevisePM

Thank you for your post. Sorry to hear about the marketing and spam you are receiving after registration. Unfortunately, once the information is published to the whois it will not be removed until the domain itself is removed from the registry database which if the domain is older than 5 days may take around 45 - 90 days on average after deletion. 

However, although it is a requirement of ICANN to have whois data listed, GoDaddy has been proactive in offering services to help mask your personal information from the whois databases. The service is called domain privacy and is usually effective immediately and will help prevent further marketers and spammers from gathering the information.  

Add Private Registration
https://www.godaddy.com/help/add-private-registration-420

Hope this helps!

-Techfly 

buggy1
Getting Started

In the many threads on this topic, what's being willfully ignored by GD is: