I just found out the hard way today that when they say "upgrade to our new website builder", they mean, build your entire website from scratch. You completely lose access to the old pages you spend hours, weeks and months on. Nothing is accessible.
My only resolution (after I clicked the upgrade button) is to be forced to spend $399.99 to pay for their services to move my old website builder site (which I no longer have access to) to a new one.
It's manipulative, fraudulant and wrong. People should be warned about it.
Thanks for taking the time to voice your concern. I'm a little confused about what's happening in your situation. When you make the switch from v6 to v7, it's true that you no longer have access to your current website within the editor. However, the site should remain active online until you publish a new website. In that case, you can access the site to copy any text or images you need in recreating the site within v7.
For others that might need help, we also have a help article that explains what your options are in making the big move. Please take a look at Options to migrate your website.
Hope that helps,
I understand the frustration and we appreciate you taking the time to voice your concerns. I'll be sure this is passed along as feedback to our teams to consider. We have a similar discussion that I would recommend reviewing at:
GoDaddy Is Deleting Your Website (Version 6)